Anderson MacDonald named to QMJHL Rookie All-Star Team

MONTREAL, April 5th, 2017 – The Golden Puck Awards, presented annually by the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, were held this evening at the Capitole in Quebec City. This year, eleven prestigious trophies were awarded to the most deserving personalities of the 2016-17 season. Five junior hockey legends were also inducted into the QMJHL Hockey Hall of Fame.

Hosted by Sportsnet’s Jeff Marek and TVA Sports’ Louis Jean, the evening was a huge success.

“This evening represents a superb gathering,” said the Commissioner, Gilles Courteau. “Over 350 people were present to welcome and honour five new members to our Hall of Fame: Luc Lachapelle, Francis Bouillon, Gaston Therrien, JS Giguère and Brad Richards. This event was made even more special as past legends receive the recognition they deserve for their exceptional careers next to the biggest names of tomorrow. In fact some of our award winners might one day become inductees.”

All-Star Teams

1st All-Star Team

G               Mikhail Denisov                      (Shawinigan Cataractes)

D               Thomas Chabot                       (Saint John Sea Dogs)

D               Samuel Girard                          (Shawinigan Cataractes)

C                Nicolas Roy                                (Chicoutimi Saguenéens)

LW            Giovannie Fiore                       (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)

RW           Vitalii Abramov                        (Gatineau Olympiques)

2nd All-Star Team

G               Samuel Montembeault        (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)

D               Guillaume Brisebois                (Charlottetown Islanders)

D               Simon Bourque                        (Saint John Sea Dogs)

C                Filip Chlapik                               (Charlottetown Islanders)

LW            Christophe Boivin                (Acadie-Bathurst Titan)

RW           Mathieu Joseph                       (Saint John Sea Dogs)

Rookie All-Star Team

G               Alexis Gravel                             (Halifax Mooseheads)

D               Jared McIsaac                          (Halifax Mooseheads)

D               Xavier Bouchard                      (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)

C                Nico Hischier                             (Halifax Mooseheads)

LW            Anderson MacDonald            (Sherbrooke Phoenix)

RW           Ivan Kosorenkov                     (Victoriaville Tigres)

More News
3 Phoenix Players invited to Hockey Canada Program of Excellence
4 weeks ago
A Record Setting Outing on the Links for the Birds
4 weeks ago
Phoenix to Host Rookie Showcase
4 weeks ago
Phoenix Draft Recap
4 weeks ago
2017-2018 QMJHL Schedule Announced
2 months ago
Alexeyev Ranked in Final 2017 NHL Draft Rankings
3 months ago