Stéphane Julien wins the second Ron-Lapointe Trophy of his career



The Quebec Major Junior Hockey League has recognized the tremendous work of Stéphane Julien behind the Sherbrooke Phoenix bench by awarding him the 2022-23 Ron-Lapointe Trophy. Julien, who has spent his entire eight-year QMJHL career at the head of the Phoenix, also won the prestigious trophy in 2019-20.

Named after the late Ron Lapointe, the trophy is presented yearly to the league’s top head coach. Lapointe had notably won a regular season championship with the Shawinigan Cataractes in 1984-85, before moving on to the NHL to coach the Quebec Nordiques. Previous winners of the award include current NHL head coaches Gerard Gallant, of the New York Rangers, and André Tourigny, of the Arizona Coyotes.

Julien led the Phoenix to a 105-point finish, including 50 wins, securing the top seed in the Western Conference and a third-place finish in the overall standings. Under Julien’s guidance, the Phoenix also had the number one ranked special teams this year, finishing first on both the powerplay and the penalty kill.


Along with Julien, Sylvain Favreau of the Halifax Mooseheads and Carl Mallette of the Victoriaville Tigres round out the nominees.

More News
The QMJHL unveils 2023-2024 regular season schedule
4 days ago
Joshua Roy takes home the Paul-Dumont Trophy
4 weeks ago
Stéphane Julien wins the 2022-23 Maurice-Filion Trophy
4 weeks ago
Halifax wins the series! Mooseheads 1 Phœnix 0
4 weeks ago
Halifax leads the series 3-2! Phœnix 0 Mooseheads 5
4 weeks ago
The series is now all tied up! Mooseheads 5 Phœnix 2
1 month ago